LGBTQIA+

This bibliography is a part of DHR’s Virginia LGBTQ Heritage project, a companion to our New
Dominion Virginia Initiative (http://www.dhr.virginia.gov/NewDominion/index.htm). The
majority of sources cited herein concern broad patterns associated with the history of LGBTQ
persons in the United States and, more specifically, in Virginia.

The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Boston, Massachusetts at Northeastern University, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.

The Empty Closet is one of the oldest continuously published LGBT papers in the United States. It was begun at the University of Rochester by Bob Osborn and Larry Fine, the founders of the UR student group, Rochester Gay Liberation Front, and later transferred to the Gay Alliance of the Genesee Valley (GAGV). In 2010, the Empty Closet celebrated its 40th year of continuous publication. As it always has, the newspaper covers local, state, national and international news, as well as issues pertaining to the LGBT community.

Search thousands of photographs, audiovisual recordings, documents, and periodicals, as well as primary source sets.

FBI documents from 1970-1980.

The LGBT collection contains 25 publications that chronicle the birth of the Gay and Lesbian movements in the United States. The gay liberation movement of the 1970s saw political action explode through the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, the Human Rights Campaign, the election of openly gay and lesbian representatives, and the first march on Washington for gay rights in 1979. Frustrated with the male leadership of most gay liberation groups and influenced by the feminist movement of the 1970s, lesbians formed their own collectives, music festivals, newspapers, bookstores, and publishing houses and called for lesbian rights in mainstream feminist groups like the National Organization for Women (NOW).

OutHistory.org was founded in October 2008 by Jonathan Ned Katz, author of Gay American History: Lesbians and Gay Men in the U.S.A. (1976) and other books on the history of sexuality and gender. When the Internet became part of everyday life in the 21st century, Katz understood that the work of documenting, archiving, and presenting new discoveries and chronologies, begun in 1976 should continue on a freely accessible public history website.

OutWeek Magazine was a gay and lesbian weekly news magazine published in New York City from 1989 to 1991. During its two-year existence, OutWeek was widely considered the leading voice of AIDS activism and the initiator of a cool new sensibility in lesbian and gay journalism.

List of resources related to LGBTQ+ Libraries, Archives, Museums, Oral History Projects, Professional Organizations, Events, and more, published and maintained by Que(e)ry since 2012.

Our Mission is to collect, preserve, and promote an active knowledge of the history, arts, and culture of metropolitan Washington DC’s diverse LGBTQ communities.

A digital archive that contains Victorian texts on LGBTQ themes.