FCPL Curated Content: English Language Learning: Related Events

Free Events at Libraries

Fairfax County Public Library
Other Local Public Libraries

Every month, there are many free events for learning English at our libraries. These events include:

One-on-one help from a volunteer tutor,
English Conversation groups to practice speaking English,
and limited English classes on grammar, vocabulary building, citizenship, and more.

See a full list of our events for learning English. Then set a bookmark. To learn more about an event or how to register, ask us.

If you live near one of our neighboring library systems, be sure to check out their events as well for more opportunities to learn.

Arlington Public Libraries
Arlington Public libraries offer English conversation classes among other language offerings.
City of Alexandria Libraries
The City of Alexandria Library System offers programs for learning English, including conversation groups, workshops, and some classes.
City of Falls Church Library
Mary Riley Styles Public Library also offers a weekly conversation group.
Loudoun County Public Libraries
Loudoun County Public libraries offer practice sessions for English language learners. Type "ESOL" in the search box to see just these events.
Prince William Public Libraries
Prince William Public libraries offer English conversation practice and classes geared toward English language learners.

Other Local Classes

Local Classes

Many other local organizations offer classes for English language learners, for a fee.

English Learners (EL) Instructional Program
This website has information on English classes for adults from Alexandria City Public Schools. This information includes locations, dates, times and fees.
English as a Second Language and Immigrant Ministries (Classes and Schedules)
This website has information on English classes offered throughout Northern Virginia and Washington DC. This information includes locations, dates, times and fees.
English Empowerment Center
This website has information on the English Empowerment Center (formerly the Literacy Council of Northern Virginia). English classes. This information includes locations, dates, times and fees.
English English Language Classes (ESOL)
This website has information on English classes for adults from Fairfax County Public Schools. This information includes locations, dates, times and fees. Click on “Adult English Language Classes (ESOL)” and "ESOL Programs" for a list of current classes.
Hogar Immigrant Services
This website has information about English classes from Hogar Immigrant Services. This information includes locations, dates, times and fees. Hogar also hosts citizenship classes.
Northern Virginia Community College's ESL Program
This website has information on the Northern Virginia Community College’s English as a Second Language courses. Information on locations, dates, times and fees are included.
REEP: English Classes for Adults
This website has information on English classes offered in Arlington. This information includes locations, dates, times and fees. Some Arlington Community Centers also have free classes.
St. Mark ESL Program
This website has information on St. Mark’s ESL program. The program includes classes on English, conversation and writing for adults. The information includes locations, dates, times and fees. St. Mark’s also offers citizenship instruction.