FCPL Curated Content: Teen Events and Resources: Tough Stuff

Dealing With Tough Stuff Teens Go Through

Life is not always filled with sunshine and rainbows, there is tough stuff to deal with as well. The following links and resources may help you or a friend out in a time of need.

Local Resources

Important Phone Numbers

Fairfax-Falls Church Community Services Board Emergency Mental Health Line: 703-573-5679; TTY 711

PRS CrisisLink: 703-527-4077. TEXT "Connect" to 855-11

Department of Family Services main line: 703-324-7500; TTY 703-222-9452

Child Protective Services Hotline: 703-324-7400

Domestic & Sexual Violence Hotline: 703-360-7273; TTY 711

Artemis House: 703-435-4940; TTY 711

Short Term, Emergency Help for Basic Needs: 703-222-0880; TTY 711

Northern Virginia Urban League Resource Mothers: 703-246-8723 (for teen mothers)

Second Story: 1-800-SAY-TEEN or text TEENHELP

Resources

Family Planning Walk-In Clinic

Confidential HIV Testing Locations in Northern Virginia

Fairfax County Health Department Clinic Locations

Healthy Families Fairfax Referral Form

Mental Health

Palo Alto Medican Foundation
An introduction to self-esteem and with answers to a some basic questions.
Teens Health-Self-Esteem
A guide to improving your self esteem and confidence.
DoSomething.org Fact Sheet
Quick facts about teens and self-esteem.
Affirmations from Teen-Anon
A list of positive phrases to keep in mind when you're feeling down.
Pursuing Happiness: Successful Strategies
There are hundreds of thousands of self-help books out there – how can you possibly tell which one is the best to read? There are so many good theories and techniques; it doesn't seem possible to read everything! If you've ever wanted a thorough review of some of the best strategies for living a happy life, then this course is for you. Using a variety of information sources, Strategies for How to be Happy will teach you methods for eradicating self-doubt, increasing self-worth, finding your passion, tapping into your creativity, and maximizing your emotional energy.
Confidence Building
This course on building self-confidence reaches beyond the standard self-help program by addressing the core issues surrounding confidence problems and exploring how to reprogram our brain‘s negative self-talk.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 1-800-273-TALK (8255), free 24-hour help.

Mayo Clinic's Guide to Teen Depression
Detailed information about teen depression--from symptoms to treatment.
National Institute of Mental Health
The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
TeenMentalHealth.org-Depression
A fact sheet about depression from researchers and clinicians at the University of British Columbia.
TeensHealth-Depression
A safe, private place for teens who need honest, accurate information and advice about health, emotions and life.
I Need a Lighthouse
Erika's Lighthouse
Erika's Lighthouse educates school communities through teenage depression programs to eliminate the stigma associated with mental illness and empower teenagers to take charge of their depression.
Teen Line
Talk to someone who understand what you're going through--like another teen!
AnxietyBC
Online resource providing self-help information.
TeensHealth-Anxiety
A safe, private place for teens who need honest, accurate information and advice about health, emotions and life.
TeenMentalHealth.org-Social Anxiety Disorder
A fact sheet about Social Anxiety Disorder from researchers and clinicians at the University of British Columbia.
TeenMentalHealth.org-Generalized Anxiety Disorder
A fact sheet about Generalized Anxiety Disorder from researchers and clinicians at the University of British Columbia.
Anxiety Therapy 101
In this course, you will gain a thorough understanding of anxiety in all of its manifestations, as well as learn proven therapies from both traditional and alternative medicine. Focus is placed on the accurate identification of specific anxiety disorders, their probable causes and understanding the specific treatment options for each, which is best able to facilitate good mental and bodily health.
Emotional Healing 101
This course details the process of how to heal from loss, disappointment, and other emotional trauma. It explores the physiological implications of certain chronic emotions such as anger or sadness, and discusses common emotional challenges.

The Healthy Teen Project
Online resources for adolescent eating disorders and recovery.
TeenHealth-Eating Disorders
A safe, private place for teens who need honest, accurate information and advice about health, emotions and life.
National Eating Disorders Association
The National Eating Disorders Association is an American non-profit organization devoted to preventing eating disorders, providing treatment referrals, and increasing the education and understanding of eating disorders, weight and body image.
Walden Center
Provides education, awareness and support to reduce stigma and create a world where all those struggling from eating disorders have the most accessible, affordable and effective treatment they deserve.

ProjectKnow
Straightforward education on drug addiction, alcohol abuse and behavioral disorders.
Drugfree.org
A nonprofit that supports families struggling with their son or daughter's substance use.
Truth
Truth focuses on spreading awareness and inspiring action in the fight to end smoking.
Your Room
A place to get facts about alcohol and other drugs.

Stress & Coping Center from TeensHealth
A safe, private place for teens who need honest, accurate information and advice about health, emotions and life.
HealthyChildren.org
A guide for managing stress.
Teen Stress Fact Sheet
Provided by Massachusetts Medical Society

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 1-800-273-TALK (8255), free 24-hour help.

Self-Injury Outreach and Support
A non-profit outreach initiative providing information and resources about self-injury to those who self-injure, those who have recovered and those who want to help.
Mental Health America-Self Harm
A fact sheet about self harm.
National Alliance on Mental Illness Self Harm Fact Sheet
The Trevor Project
The leading national organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning (LGBTQ) young people ages 13-24.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 1-800-273-TALK (8255), free 24-hour help.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline
The Lifeline provides 24/7, free and confidential support for people in distress, prevention and crisis resources for you or your loved ones and best practices for professionals.
The Trevor Project
The leading national organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning (LGBTQ) young people ages 13-24.
Society for the Prevention of Teen Suicide
A nonprofit organization dedicated to the belief that accurate information and education about suicide can save lives.
Yellow Ribbon Suicide Prevention Program
An organization dedicated to preventing suicide and attempts by making suicide prevention accessible to everyone and removing barriers to help.
The Jason Foundation
A US organization that provides curriculum material to schools, parents and other teens about how teen suicide can be preventable.
American Foundation for Suicide Prevention
A non-profit organization exclusively dedicated to understanding and preventing suicide through research, education and advocacy.
Please Live
Please Live's mission to cultivate mental wellness through education and awareness of youth and young adult mental health challenges, focusing primarily on depression, anxiety and suicide prevention.
Foods 4 Thought
An organization to help break down the stigma of teenage depression and suicide, one conversation at a time. Contains information on helpful links, books and a forum to pay tribute to those we've lost.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 1-800-273-TALK (8255), free 24-hour help.

The Dougy Center
Provides support in a safe place where children, teens, young adults, and their families grieving a death can share their experiences.
The National Child Traumatic Stress Network
An organization whose "mission is to raise the standard of care and improve access to services for traumatized children, their families and communities.

Sexual Health

Teach Consent
Teaching kids about the skills of consent to help reduce sexual coercion, harassment and assault.
Teen Talk
Providing youth with accurate, non-judgmental information about sexuality, reproductive health, body image, substance use awareness, mental health, issues of diversity and anti-violence issues so that they can make healthier decisions and choices for themselves
It's All About Consent
A guide from Planned Parenthood.
Teaching Healthy Sex Talk from MenEngage
A guide for teens.

Everything You Need to Know About Sex
A comprehensive guide to sex and sexuality.
Scarleteen
Sex ed for the real world.
What Teens Really Want to Know About Sex
Answers to commonly asked questions.
TeenSource.org
Information about sex, health and you.
Sex, etc.
Sex education for teens, by teens.
It's Your Sex Life
Fact sheets, articles and access to a live chat with an expert.
IKnowMine.org
Truthful and accurate information that youth can trust, including STDs, pregnancy, nutrition, sexual health and more
Go Ask Alice
Alice! is not one person, but a team. The Go Ask Alice! site is supported by a team of Columbia University health promotion specialists, health care providers, and other health professionals, along with a staff of information and research specialists and writers. Our team members have advanced degrees in public health, health education, medicine, counseling, and a number of other relevant fields.

Youth Guardian Services
A youth-run non-profit organization that provides support services on the Internet to gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgendered, questioning and straight supportive youth.
Gay-Straight Alliance Network
GSA Network is a next-generation LGBTQ racial and gender justice organization that empowers and trains queer, trans and allied youth leaders to advocate, organize and mobilize an intersectional movement for safer schools and healthier communities.
Identity
Identity envisions a world where all people are free to express and be proud of their gender identity and sexual orientation.
PFLAG
PFLAG is the extended family of the LGBTQ community that is made up of LGBTQ individuals, family members and allies.
TransKids Purple Rainbow Foundation
Founded by Jazz Jennings, TKPRF is committed to enhancing the future lives of TransKids by educating schools, peers, places of worship, the medical community, government bodies, and society in general, in an effort to seek fair and equal treatment for all transyouth.
Coming Out Handbook
A handbook for LGBTQ young people. From The Trevor Project.
It Gets Better Project
For the last decade, we’ve been helping people like you embrace their authentic selves. Our goal is to make that journey more joyous by empowering you through the stories of others who have shared your experience. Whether you need inspiration, help, or community, we are here for you. You are more powerful than you realize.

Teenage Pregnancy Facts
A guide from MedlinePlus.
Teen Pregnancy
From the Center for Disease Control.
ReCAPP
Provides practical tools and information to effectively reduce sexual risk-taking behaviors.
Stay Teen
The goal of Stay Teen is to encourage you to enjoy your teen years and avoid the responsibilities that come with too-early pregnancy and parenting.
I Think I'm Pregnant. Now What?
A guide from Planned Parenthood.
Generation Her
A non-profit organization that seeks to empower teenage mothers, ages 13-23, and their children by connecting them to a supportive community of other teen mothers and adult mentors, equipping them with desired life skills, and, ultimately, impacting their future in a positive way.
All About Birth Control
A guide from Planned Parenthood.

Physical Health

Guide to Puberty
From Planned Parenthood.
Everything You Wanted To Know About Puberty
A guide from TeensHealth.

Hygene Basics
A guide from TeensHealth.
Acne Guide from Medline Plus
Acne Guide from National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases
Clean and Nearly Teen
A hygiene guide for tweens.

Nutrition.gov
Nutrition information for teens from the USDA.
EatRight.org
Information about nutrition and health from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.
United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Links to articles about teen nutrition and health.
GirlsHealth.gov
Health and nutrition information for girls from the Office on Women's Health.

Easy Exercises for Teens
A guide about exercise from TeensHealth.
SafeTeens
How to stay in shape the safe way.
Types of Exercise
Information about the different kinds of exercise from HealthyChildren.org.
How Teens Can Stay Fit
A guide to staying in shape from HealthyChildren.org.

National Institute on Drug Abuse for Teens
Drug facts, videos, articles and news.
Have a Drug Problem--Need Help?
A resource guide from the National Institute on Drug Abuse for Teens.
ProjectKnow
Information about substance abuse with links to recovery and treatment resources.
Teen Drug Abuse Resources
Links to online resources from Teen Drug Abuse.

Abuse & Violence

Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Facts about teen dating abuse from the CDC.
LoveIsRespect.org
24/7 confidential support for people experiencing abuse.
National Domestic Violence Hotline
The vital link to safety for women, men, children and families affected by domestic violence who responds to calls 24/7, 365 days a year.
Futures Without Violence
Learn more about our work to prevent violence by building healthier relationships and communities.
Virginia Sexual and Domestic Violence Action Alliance
Virginia's leading voice on sexual violence and domestic violence
Casa de Esperanza
An organization with a mission to mobilize Latinas and Latin@ communities to end domestic violence.
Love: The Good, The Bad and the Ugly
Advice and stories from Domestic Violence Resource Centre Victoria.
Break the Cycle
Break the Cycle inspires and supports young people to build healthy relationships and create a culture without abuse.
National Runaway Safeline
A resource for those who are thinking of running from home, have a friend who has runaway or runaways ready to go home.
New Choices, Inc.
A non-profit agency dedicated to serving the unique needs of victims and survivors of domestic violence and abuse.

StopBullying.gov
Resources for bullying prevention from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
The Trevor Project
The leading national organization providing crisis intervention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning (LGBTQ) young people ages 13-24.
Pacer's National Bullying Prevention Center
Founded in 2006, PACER’s National Bullying Prevention Center actively leads social change, so that bullying is no longer considered an accepted childhood rite of passage.
Pacer Center's Teens Against Bullying
Created by and for teens, this website is a place for middle and high school students to find ways to address bullying, to take action, to be heard and to own an important social cause.
Cyberbullying Research Center
Information and resources about cyberbullying.
Stomp Out Bullying
The leading national nonprofit dedicated to changing the culture for all students. It works to reduce and prevent bullying, cyberbullying, sexting and other digital abuse, educates against homophobia, LGBTQ discrimination, racism and hatred, and deters violence in schools, online and in communities across the country.
Beyond Bullies
An organization dedicated to helping youth who have become the targets of bullying and cyber bullying, by providing them online real-time support from E-teen leaders, viral campaigns to engage youth to take action and prevention/educational programs to create awareness to stop it.
KidPower
A non-profit that teaches skills to protect and empower young people to stop bullying, abuse, assault, kidnapping and other violence
NotMYKid
An organization that prepares kids to face everyday challenges with courage and confidence through unique education models of peer-to-peer education, we address the life-changing issues of substance abuse, bullying, unhealthy relationships, eating disorders, depression/self injury and internet safety.

RAINN
The Rape Abuse Incest National Network is the nation's largest anti-sexual violence organization.
Vera House
A comprehensive domestic and sexual violence service agency providing shelter, advocacy, and counseling services for women, children & men education and prevention programs and community coordination.
WOAR
WOAR provides free counseling services to teens who have experienced sexual violence: sexual assault, rape/date rape, incest and child sexual abuse.
Advocates for Youth
Advocates for Youth is the only organization that works both in the United States and in developing countries with a sole focus on adolescent reproductive and sexual health.
Joyful Heart Foundation
A leading national organization with a mission to transform society’s response to sexual assault, domestic violence, and child abuse, support survivors’ healing and end this violence forever.
1in6
The mission of 1in6 is to help men who have had unwanted or abusive sexual experiences live healthier, happier lives.
Male Survivor
A leader in the fight to improve the resources and support available to male survivors of all forms of sexual abuse in the US and around the globe.

Teen Vogue
Articles and advice about friends and friendships.

Is This Love? Teen Tips for Romance and Dating
A guide from WebMD.
LoveIsRespect.org
Online resources, advice and 24/7 confidential support for people experiencing abuse.
Relationships Guide from Planned Parenthood
Am I in a Healthy Relationship?
A guide from TeensHealth.
Stay Teen
Relationship tips and advice from an organization whose goal is to encourage you to enjoy your teen years and avoid the responsibilities that come with too-early pregnancy and parenting.

Teen Events and Resources

You don't have to call for help--you can text for it!

CRISIS TEXT LINE

Text 741741 from anywhere in the USA to text with a trained Crisis Counselor.

Dealing With Tough Stuff Teens Go Through

Local Resources

Important Phone Numbers

Resources

Mental Health

Sexual Health

Physical Health

Abuse & Violence

Relationships