Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fairfax County logo

Find Your Next Book

Lists that help you find your next favorite book

A Detailed Look at Fiction Genres

Fiction encompasses many different sub-genres. Below you will find resources that are specific to some of the more popular types of fiction.

Fantasy/Science Fiction

Best Fantasy Books
"Dedicated to helping you find the best fantasy books ever written."

Best Science Fiction Books
Provides detailed and comprehensive SF "best lists," active science fiction forums, a sci-fi blog and much more. Includes reviews and recommendations.

Internet Speculative Fiction Database
Online community effort to catalog works of science fiction, fantasy and horror, which links together various types of bibliographic data, including author bibliographies, publication bibliographies and award listings among others.

Science Fiction Encyclopedia
Provides comprehensive, scholarly and critical guides to science fiction in all its forms.

Worlds Without End
A science fiction, fantasy and horror fan website dedicated to identifying, reading and sharing the best science fiction, fantasy and horror novels. Free membership is available.

Historical Fiction

Historical Novel Society
Review of historical fiction searchable by author, type, period or century. Includes novels for children and young adults.

HistoricalNovels.Info
Book lists of more than 5000 historical novels organized by time and place.

Horror

Horror Novel Reviews
Horror fiction news, reviews, interviews, featured articles and "Horror Story of the Week."

HWA's Horror Reading Lists
The Horror Writers Association offers a list of classics and "bests" of dark fiction.

Inspirational Fiction

FictionFinder
This project of the American Christian Fiction Writers seeks to inform people about the wide variety of Christian fiction available today.

Mystery/Suspense

Hidden Staircase Mystery Books
"Gateway to the best mystery on the Internet."

Stop, You're Killing Me!
A resource for mystery, crime, thriller, spy and suspense readers. Includes author and chronological series lists, read-alikes and indexes by location, job, historical period and diversity.

Romance

All About Romance
"The back fence for lovers of romance novels." Reviews, articles, message boards and the "who's who and what's what in romance fiction today."

Urban Fiction

Urban Reviews
A resource for open and honest opinions on African-American fiction.

Westerns

Roundup Magazine
Monthly reviews of westerns from the Western Writers of America's online magazine.

Classics

Bibliomania
Thousands of free classic e-books, poems, articles, short stories and plays. Includes teacher and student study guides for classic books as well as research materials.

Great Books
A compilation of lists of classics in Western, Eastern and contemporary literature.

Graphic Novels

Comics Worth Reading
News and reviews of graphic novels, manga, comic books and related subjects.

No Flying No Tights
A page devoted to graphic novel reviews with an emphasis on teens, but including reading ideas for graphic novel readers of all ages.

Fairfax County seal