Cultural Heritage of Fairfax County Residents

Family History Month was established in the United States in October 2001 with a resolution in Congress to encourage individuals and families to explore their heritage and preserve their unique histories, traditions and genealogical research. Understanding our roots can strengthen in us a sense of identity and community. Family History Month is a time to celebrate the stories that connect us all.

Below are several resources to get you started in (or to continue) discovering, gathering, and celebrating your family, your culture, and your heritage.

The Virginia Room

The Virginia Room is a specialized branch of Fairfax County Public Library. Hundreds of books, maps, microfilm and other materials that are focused on local history and genealogy are in the collection. Staff is available to help you conduct your research. The Virginia Room is located on the second floor of the City of Fairfax Regional Library.

Genealogy Guide

The Virginia Room has a Genealogy Guide that is aimed to support those in search of their family history and origins. There you will find links to genealogical databases, websites, and other resources. 

Need help or want to learn more? Visit or reach out via email with your questions.

Online Resources

FCPL subscribes to a number of online resources designed to help you in your family history quest. Some are available from home, others must be accessed from within a library branch. More details can be found in the Genealogy Guide under Genealogy Databases and Websites. 

Fairfax Genealogical Society

The Fairfax Genealogical Society is one of the preeminent local genealogical societies in the country. The page Fairfax Genealogical Research Aids provides links to organizations and resources within Fairfax County, Virginia, the US and beyond.

Library of Virginia

The library has a guide devoted entirely to Genealogy Research. Virginia residents may register online for a Library of Virginia account with a valid Virginia state-issued driver's license or identification card.

Family History Center: Find Your Story

Ellis Island is the home of the American Family Immigration History Center. Find close to 65 million searchable records documenting the immigrant experience.

National Archives (NARA)

Start your genealogy research at NARA with their Resources for Genealogists page to "learn how you can use the resources at the National Archives to explore your family's ancestry." 

National Genealogical Society

The National Genealogical Society (NGS) was founded in 1903 and was the was the first national genealogical organization. Find links on their page for those interested in pursuing their family history.

Family History Month Activities

Listed below are a few suggestions to help you get to know your family (or the family of your heart) better. Learn more about your culture and heritage!

• Search our Calendar of Events to see what programs might be on offer - use the keywords "family history" or "genealogy".

• Here are some Suggestions and Advice for Family History Researchers from a National Archives (NARA) blog post.

• Have a family interview session. Check out a Family History Kit from our Library of Things. The digital voice recorder comes with some interview prompts to get you started. Family History Kits are available in English, Spanish-English and Korean-English. If all the kits are checked out, place a hold on a kit, or consider some of the following questions to get a conversation started:
  • Where did you grow up?
  • Do you know the story of how your parents met? How about your grandparents?
  • What are some of the stories you loved hearing from your family members?
  • What are some of your favorite family traditions?
  • What have been the most important relationships in your life? 

• Cook a favorite family recipe. Talk about the story of the recipe. Where is it from? What makes it your favorite? Do you make the meal for special occasions, and if so, why? Or, make a traditional meal from your heritage or a culture that intrigues you.

• Look at some family photos. Are the photos identified with dates, locations, people and/or occasions? Help future generations of your family understand your history by including some of this important documentation.

• Sign up for a session at one of FCPL's Memory Depots where you can digitize photographs, slides, VHS cassettes and more.

• Access one or more of the online resources that are available to you to conduct research into past generations of your family, including Ancestry Library Edition, HeritageQuest Online and Fold3. Keep in mind that Ancestry is only available from within library branches, not from home.

• Check out the Virginia Room at the City of Fairfax Regional Library!