Since 1964, the Virginia Room has been collecting and preserving original records and documents of the organizations, businesses, and individuals of Fairfax County.
Please contact the Virginia Room to make an appointment to view processed collections.
| MSS # | Collection Titles |
| 01-01 | Jane K. Wall Fairfax County Cemetery Survey Papers |
| 01-02 | Flint Hill Cemetery Collection |
| 01-03 | Fairfax County, Virginia Gravestones Collection |
| 01-04 | Fairfax Cemetery Association Records |
| 01-05 | Andrew Chapel United Methodist Church Cemetery Burial or Removal Permits |
| 01-06 | Virginia Room Gravestone Storage Records |
| MSS # | Collection Titles |
| 02-01 | Washington and Old Dominion Railroad Collection |
| 02-02 | Ardwin H. Barsanti and John D. Bunce Medical Equipment |
| 02-03 | Davis General Store Records |
| 02-04 | Certificates of Incorporation Collection |
| 02-05 | Potomac Steam Boat Company Stock Certificates |
| 02-06 | Lorton Reformatory Brick Factory Records |
| 02-07 | Promotional Plans for Fairfax County Housing Developments Collection |
| 02-08 | A. Smith Bowman Distillery Collection |
| 02-09 | Grain and Flour Bag Collection |
| 02-10 | Business Card Collection |
| 02-11 | Ticket Stub Collection |
| 02-12 | Wheatley Funeral Home Records |
| 02-13 | Sears #1814 Fair Oaks Mall Scrapbook |
| 02-14 | Fairfax County Board of Supervisors Northern Virginia Businesses Receipts Collection |
| MSS # | Collection Titles |
| 03-01 | Town of Clifton Records |
| 03-02 | Annandale, Virginia Collection |
| 03-03 | Burke, Virginia Collection |
| 03-04 | Centreville, Virginia Collection |
| 03-05 | Dunn Loring, Virginia Collection |
| 03-06 | Clifton, Virginia Collection |
| 03-07 | Fairfax, Virginia Collection |
| 03-08 | Falls Church, Virginia Collection |
| 03-09 | Great Falls, Virginia Collection |
| 03-10 | Gum Springs, Virginia Collection |
| 03-11 | Herndon, Virginia Collection |
| 03-12 | Lorton, Virginia Collection |
| 03-13 | McLean, Virginia Collection |
| 03-14 | Reston, Virginia Collection |
| 03-15 | Springfield, Virginia Collection |
| 03-16 | Vienna, Virginia Collection |
| 03-17 | Oakton, Virginia Collection |
| 03-18 | Fairfax Station, Virginia Collection |
| 03-19 | Franconia, Virginia Collection |
| MSS # | Collection Titles |
| 04-01 | Turley Hall Collection |
| 04-02 | Fairfax County Courthouse Collection |
| 04-03 | Mountain View Collection |
| 04-04 | Historic American Buildings Survey Architectural Drawings of Historic Fairfax County Buildings |
| 04-05 | Dranesville Tavern Collection |
| 04-06 | Royal Oaks Collection |
| 04-07 | Langley Ordinary Collection |
| 04-08 | Quailwood Collection |
| 04-08 | One University Plaza Collection |
| MSS # | Collection Titles |
| 05-01 | Historical Society of Fairfax County Records |
| 05-02 | League of Women Voters of the Fairfax Area Scrapbooks |
| 05-03 | Annandale District Council Records |
| 05-04 | Republican Committee of Fairfax County Papers |
| 05-05 | Fairfax County Council of PTAs Records |
| 05-06 | United Daughters of the Confederacy Scrapbooks |
| 05-07 | Children of the Confederacy Scrapbooks |
| 05-08 | Neighbors for a Better Community Records |
| 05-09 | Junior Woman's Club of McLean Records |
| 05-10 | Springfield Music Club Scrapbooks |
| 05-11 | Greenway Downs Citizens Association Records |
| 05-12 | Accotink Heights Civic Association Records |
| 05-13 | Fairfax Heritage Society Records |
| 05-14 | Fairfax Historical Society Records |
| 05-15 | Pimmit Hills Citizens Association Records |
| 05-16 | McLean Citizens Association Records |
| 05-17 | Franklin Park Civic Improvement League Records |
| 05-18 | Fairfax County Home Demonstration Club Records |
| 05-19 | Oak Ridge Citizens Association Records |
| 05-20 | Red House Cove Association v. Morauer & Hartzell, Inc. Litigation Files |
| 05-21 | Penn Daw Volunteer Fire Department Ladies Auxiliary Records |
| 05-22 | Old Lee Hills Civic Association Records |
| 05-23 | Chesterbrook Methodist Church Collection |
| 05-24 | Ladies Current Events Club Records |
| 05-25 | School and Civic League of McLean, Virginia Minutes |
| 05-26 | St. Timothy's Episcopal Church Records |
| 05-27 | City of Fairfax Band Collection |
| 05-28 | Crestwood Woman’s Club, Springfield, Virginia Collection |
| 05-29 | Springfield Acres Garden Club Collection |
| 05-30 | Pine Ridge Women's Club Collection |
| 05-31 | Great Falls Citizens Association Records |
| 05-32 | Centreville Grange No. 750 Dues Account Book |
| 05-33 | Virginia Hills Citizens Association Papers |
| 05-34 | Fairfax Symphony Orchestra Scrapbook |
| 05-35 | Franklin Civic Association Records |
| 05-36 | Franklin Area Citizens Association Records |
| 05-37 | Franklin Park Women’s Club Collection |
| 05-38 | National Gardens Baptist Church Records |
| 05-40 | Ballantrae Ski Club Records |
| 05-41 | Modern Woodmen of America, Fairfax Chapter Records |
| 05-42 | Sully Foundation Records |
| 05-43 | Osher Lifelong Learning Institute at George Mason University Catalogs |
| 05-44 | Potomac Charge Records |
| 05-45 | Westmore Youth Service Club Scrapbook |
| 05-46 | Great Falls Volunteer Fire Department Minutes |
| 05-47 | Thursday Morning Garden Club Collection |
| 05-48 | Clifton Community Women’s Club Collection |
| 05-49 | Historic Fairfax City Inc. Papers |
| 05-50 | American Cancer Society Fairfax County Chapter Records |
| 05-51 | Optimist Club of McLean, Virginia Scrapbook |
| 05-52 | Woman’s Club of Fairfax Collection |
| 05-53 | Vale Club Records |
| 05-54 | Quilters Unlimited Papers |
| 05-55 | Woman's Club of McLean Papers |
| 05-56 | Willow Brook Garden Club Papers |
| 05-57 | Daughters of the American Revolution Collection |
| 05-58 | Northern Virginia Conservation Council Papers |
| 05-59 | Fairfax County Community Chest Papers |
| 05-60 | Garden Club Collection |
| 05-61 | Rotary Club Collection |
| 05-62 | Chocolate Lovers Festival Collection |
| 05-63 | Northern Virginia Association for History Records |
| 05-64 | Sherwood Farm Collection |
| 05-65 | McLean Estates Civic Association Records |
| 05-66 | George Mason Junior Woman’s Club Scrapbook |
| 05-67 | Fairfax Chorus Records |
| 05-68 | Sleepy Hollow Woods Garden and Craft Club Records |
| 05-69 | Fairfax Ferns Garden Club Records |
| 05-70 | Rocky Run Garden Club Scrapbooks |
| 05-72 | Friends of Dyke Marsh Records |
| 05-73 | Orange Hunt Civic Association Records |
| 05-74 | Mount Vernon Council of Citizens Associations, Inc. Records |
| 05-75 | Great Falls Historical Society, Virginia Collection |
| 05-76 | Fairfax Home Economists in Home and Community Club Records |
| 05-77 | Holmes Run Acres Civic Association Collection |
| 05-78 | West Springfield Little League Records |
| 05-79 | The InterService Club Council of Fairfax, Virginia Records |
| 05-80 | Fairfax County Dance Coalition Records |
| MSS # | Collection Titles |
| 06-01 | Richard H. Darne Papers |
| 06-02 | Samuel E. Neel Papers |
| 06-03 | W.T. Woodson Papers |
| 06-04 | William Lindsay Carne Collection |
| 06-05 | Robert Edward Wagstaff Papers |
| 06-06 | John K. Gott Collection |
| 06-07 | Linda Carlston Scrapbooks |
| 06-08 | Dorothy L. Davis Scrapbooks |
| 06-09 | Dr. James T. Jones Collection |
| 06-10 | Lucia Kirk Williams Scrapbooks |
| 06-11 | Donie Rieger Papers |
| 06-12 | Mayo Stuntz Collection |
| 06-13 | Henry H. Douglas Collection |
| 06-14 | James Adams Account Books |
| 06-15 | Margaret Peck Collection on Sully Plantation |
| 06-16 | Benjamin L. Otterback Farm Journals |
| 06-17 | Virginia B. Peters Papers on the Fairfax County History Commission |
| 06-18 | Joy S. Starr Collection on Vale History |
| 06-19 | Augustus C. Johnson Collection |
| 06-20 | Ruth “Snip” Peter Papers |
| 06-21 | Robert Wiley Collection |
| 06-22 | Lucie Moore Wiltshire Scrapbooks |
| 06-23 | Cordelia Sansone Papers |
| 06-24 | Francis Lightfoot Lee Papers |
| 06-25 | John S. Mosby Letters |
| 06-26 | Henry Wirt Thomas Collection |
| 06-27 | Thomas Clowes Account Book |
| 06-28 | Wilson Mahone Farr Collection |
| 06-30 | Kate Carper Diaries |
| 06-31 | Oliver C. Benton Letters |
| 06-32 | Ludolph Longhenry Diary |
| 06-33 | Milton H. Bancroft Paintings |
| 06-34 | George F. Harrison Papers |
| 06-35 | Alvaine T. Hamilton Collection |
| 06-36 | Harley M. Williams Papers |
| 06-37 | Helen Myers Morgan Collection |
| 06-38 | Ross and Nan Netherton Collection |
| 06-39 | Manning Gasch Papers |
| 06-40 | Bayard D. Evans Collection |
| 06-41 | Elizabeth Miles Cooke Collection |
| 06-42 | D’Anne Aultmann Evans Papers |
| 06-43 | Henry Loveless Papers |
| 06-44 | E. F. Swink Papers |
| 06-45 | Clifford Currie Collection on Colvin Run Mill |
| 06-46 | Franklin Sherman Letters |
| 06-47 | Carole Drake Friedman Collection |
| 06-48 | Edith Moore Sprouse Papers |
| 06-49 | Judge David C. Humphreys Papers |
| 06-50 | S. Cooper Dawson, Jr. Collection on Penn-Daw Motor Hotel |
| 06-51 | John F. “Jack” Herrity Collection |
| 06-52 | Jacqueline Upham Oliver Collection |
| 06-53 | Edgar R. Hon Collection on Tysons Corner Silver Line Metro Development |
| 06-54 | Harry Lattimore Collection |
| 06-55 | Martha Pennino Scrapbook on 350th Anniversary of County Government in Virginia |
| 06-56 | Laurence Mitchell Collection |
| 06-57 | Anne Wilkins Collection |
| 06-58 | Randolph M. Loughborough Papers |
| 06-59 | Henry C. Mackall Papers |
| 06-60 | David Whitman Papers on Revolutionary War and War of 1812 Research |
| 06-61 | Scrapbook on Virginia, George Washington, and the Civil War |
| 06-62 | James M. Scott Papers |
| 06-63 | Charles "Mark" Merrell Papers |
| 06-64 | Michael H. Long Papers |
| 06-65 | Steve Dryden Papers on Pimmit Run Research |
| 06-66 | Naomi Sokol Zeavin Papers on Mason District History |
| 06-67 | Dorothy McDiarmid Papers on Virginia Reapportionment |
| 06-68 | Everard Munsey Papers |
| 06-69 | Hugh L. Robertson Collection |
| 06-70 | Mary Margaret Pence Collection |
| 06-71 | Dr. Frank W. Huddleson Check Book |
| 06-72 | John Mackall Real Estate Records |
| 06-73 | Ralph Raney Papers on Silas Burke Study |
| 06-74 | Rosanne S. Berkenstock Papers on Burke Centre Study |
| 06-75 | Col. Samuel Simpson Diaries |
| 06-76 | Mary S. Howe letter to Sarah Chichester |
| 06-77 | Jean Packard Papers on Fairfax County Federation of Citizens Associations |
| 06-78 | Brian A. Conley Collection |
| 06-79 | 1807 Fee Book Scrapbook |
| 06-80 | Samuel B. Detwiler Jr. Collection on Fairfax Line Study |
| 06-81 | Mary L. McCandlish Papers |
| 06-82 | Howard Marler Papers on Fairfax County Chamber of Commerce |
| 06-83 | Frederick J. McCoy Papers |
| 06-84 | Hilda Booton Papers on Fairfax County Extension Homemakers |
| 06-85 | Ernest L. Plaskett Certificate of Appointment as Lorton Valley, Virginia Postmaster |
| 06-86 | Sally Ormsby Papers and Citizens Committee on Land Use and Transportation Records |
| 06-87 | George Davis Jr. Papers |
| 06-88 | Commemorative Postage Stamp Collection |
| 06-89 | Dulles Airport Scrapbooks |
| 06-90 | John H. and Eppa Hunton Hurst Blacksmith Shop Journals |
| 06-91 | Beth Mitchell Collection |
| 06-92 | Bill Elvin Collection |
| 06-93 | Melinda E. Pittman Falls Church High School Theatre Collection |
| 06-94 | Tom Buckley Collection on Virginia Political Campaign Memorabilia |
| 06-95 | Patricia F. Parthree Collection on Mount Vernon High School |
| 06-96 | Lisle A. and Neitah Smith Collection on Spring Glade Farm |
| 06-97 | Olga A. Hernandez Papers |
| 06-98 | Thomas McClung McCutchan Record Books |
| 06-101 | Glenn Moore Collection of Fairfax County Ham Radio QSL Calling Cards |
| 06-102 | Sampson Turley Account Page |
| 06-103 | Col. James M. Love Jr. Law Books |
| 06-105 | Virginia and the Virginia County Magazine Print Blocks from the March 1952 Fairfax County Issue |
| 06-106 | Sharon Bulova News Articles Collection |
| 06-107 | Robert and Marjorie Lundegard Collection on Mills Research |
| 06-108 | G. Truman Ward Collection |
| 06-110 | Thomas R. McCullough Collection |
| 06-111 | John W. Ritter, Jr. Scrapbook on Fairfax High School |
| 06-113 | Herbert O. Blunt Collection |
| MSS # | Collection Titles |
| 07-01 | Coffer Family Collection |
| 07-02 | Tucker Family Papers |
| 07-03 | Owners of Aspen Grove Collection |
| 07-04 | Turberville Family Collection |
| 07-05 | Wrenn/Harrison/Fitzhugh/Cross Family Papers |
| 07-06 | Donohoe Family Papers |
| 07-07 | Scott Family Collection |
| 07-08 | Moran Family Papers |
| 07-09 | Pickett Family Papers |
| 07-10 | Stewart Family Collection |
| 07-11 | Daingerfield Family Papers |
| 07-12 | Millan Family Collection |
| 07-13 | Carter Family Collection |
| 07-14 | Crowell Family Papers |
| 07-15 | John Sherwood Collection |
| 07-16 | Detwiler Family Papers |
| 07-17 | Griffith Family Collection |
| 07-18 | Nimmo Family Papers |
| 07-19 | Nestel Family Scrapbook |
| 07-20 | Stacy C. and Geraldine Sherwood Collection |
| 07-21 | Hine Family Collection |
| 07-22 | Gibbs Family Photograph Collection |
| 07-23 | Smoot Family Collection - McLean Community Library |
| 07-24 | Margaret M. MacGill Photograph Collection on the O’Meara Family |
| 07-25 | Slade/Fitzhugh Family Papers |
| 07-26 | Mary Goins Roots Collection |
| 07-27 | Haight-Barlow Family Collection |
| 07-28 | Howdershell/Hummer Family Collection |
| 07-29 | Johnston Family Workbooks Collection |
| MSS # | Collection Titles |
| 08-01 | Maplewood Manuscript Papers |
| 08-02 | William Paige Johnson II Manuscript Papers on Off To War: The Virginia Volunteers in the War with Mexico |
| 08-03 | Benjamin F. Cooling III Manuscript Papers on Historical Highlights of Bull Run Park (1971) |
| 08-04 | Peter H. Smith Manuscript Papers on Mayfield and Ivy Chimney: Country Homes of Country Doctors |
| 08-05 | Eugenia B. Smith Manuscript Papers on Centreville, Virginia Its History and Architecture |
| 08-06 | Robert S. Gamble Manuscript Collection on Sully: The Biography of a House (1973) |
| 08-07 | Charles P. Poland Manuscript Papers on Dunbarton, Dranesville, Virginia (1974) |
| 08-08 | Deborah Cannan Manuscript Drafts on Land Above The Falls |
| 08-09 | Kenton Kilmer Manuscript Papers on The Fairfax Family in Fairfax County (1975) |
| 08-10 | Barbara T Spann Manuscript Papers on Carlby (1976) |
| 08-11 | Donald M. Sweig Manuscript Papers on Registrations of Free Negroes |
| 08-12 | Fairfax County Stories 1607-2007 Manuscript Papers |
| 08-13 | Beth Mitchell Manuscript Papers on Beginning at a White Oak (1977) |
| 08-14 | Fairfax County, Virginia: A History (1978) Manuscript Collection |
| 08-15 | Hope Park and Hope Park Mill (1978) Manuscript Papers |
| 08-16 | Elizabeth Brown Pryor Manuscript Papers on Frying Pan Farm (1979) |
| 08-17 | Ellen L. Anderson Manuscript Papers on Salona (1979) |
| 08-18 | Thomas V. DiBacco Manuscript Papers on Moorefield, Home of Early Baptist Preacher Jeremiah Moore (1970) |
| 08-19 | Shaping a nation: stories of the Lees Manuscript Bookplate |
| 08-20 | A Fairfax Friendship: The Complete Correspondence Between George Washington and Bryan Fairfax, 1754-1799 Manuscript Papers |
| 08-21 | Stone Ground: A History of Union Mills Manuscript Papers |
| 08-22 | John Terry Chase Manuscript Papers on Gum Springs: The Triumph of a Black Community (1990) |
| 08-23 | Robert M. Moxham Manuscript Papers on A History of Annandale, Virginia (1992) |
| 08-24 | Huntley Historic District Report (1976) Papers |
| 08-25 | Kevin C. Ruffner Manuscript Draft on Tenting on the Old Camp Ground |
| 08-26 | Lee and Ruth Saegesser Manuscript Collection on History of Dunn Loring, Virginia |
| 08-27 | Fairfax, Virginia: A City Traveling Through Time (1997) Book Manuscript Collection |
| 08-28 | Noel Garraux Harrison Manuscript Draft on City of Canvas: Camp Russell A. Alger and the Spanish-American War (1988) |
| 08-29 | Jean Tibbetts Manuscript Papers on This Land at Cornwell Farm |
| MSS # | Collection Titles |
| 09-01 | Fairfax County History Commission Records |
| 09-02 | Fairfax County Office of Comprehensive Planning Collection |
| 09-03 | Fairfax County Extension Service Records |
| 09-04 | Virginia Independence Bicentennial Celebration |
| 09-05 | Fairfax County 250th Anniversary Celebration Collection |
| 09-06 | Gerald R. Ford letter to Robert W. Wilson on the Fairfax County Community Development Plan |
| 09-07 | Fairfax County Calendars Collection |
| 09-08 | Fairfax Corporation Collection |
| 09-11 | Fairfax County Park Authority Collection |
| 09-12 | Fairfax County History Museum Steering Committee Papers |
| 09-13 | Occoquan Watershed Downzoning Records |
| 09-14 | Fairfax Hospital and Health Center Commission Minutes |
| 09-15 | Fairfax County Office of Elections Voting District and Street Maps |
| 09-16 | John W. Ferguson 1948 Assessment of Fairfax County Land Tracts Not In Incorporated Towns |
| 09-17 | Fairfax County Civil War Centennial Commission Papers |
| 09-18 | Fairfax County Sanitation Inspection Ordinance Papers |
| 09-20 | Fairfax County Commission on the Bicentennial of the United States Constitution Records |
| 09-21 | Fairfax County 275th Celebration Collection |
| 09-22 | Fairfax County Office of County Treasurer 1893-1894 Tax Account Book |
| 09-23 | Fairfax County Emergency Services Patch Collection |
| MSS # | Collection Titles |
| 10-01 | Fairfax County Public Library Records |
| 10-02 | Fairfax County Public Library Board of Trustees Records |
| 10-03 | Fairfax County Public Library Employees Association Records |
| 10-04 | City of Fairfax Regional Library Collection |
| MSS # | Collection Titles |
| 11-01 | Fairfax County School Board Records |
| 11-02 | Fairfax High School Collection |
| 11-03 | Fairfax County Public Schools Centennial History Project Collection |
| 11-04 | Thomas Jefferson: The Story of a High School Oral History Project |
| 11-05 | Legato School Manuscript Papers |
| 11-06 | Fairfax County Public Schools Collection |
| 11-07 | Dranesville District School Board Records |
| 11-08 | Providence District School Board Records |
| 11-10 | Lee District School Board Minutes |
| 11-11 | Herndon District School Board Records |
| 11-12 | Oakton High School Collection |
| 11-13 | Mount Vernon High School Collection |
| 11-14 | Forestville School Student Register Records |
| 11-15 | Northern Virginia Community College Collection |
| 11-16 | Bishop Ireton High School Collection |
| 11-17 | Fort Hunt High School Collection |
| MSS # | Collection Titles |
| 12-01 | Newspaper Collection |
| 12-02 | Fairfax Herald Newspaper Collection |
| 12-03 | Alexandria Gazette Newspaper Collection |
| 12-04 | Springfield Independent Collection |
| 12-05 | Globe Merchant Newspaper Collection |
| 12-06 | New York Newspapers Collection |
| 12-07 | Fairfax News Newspaper Collection |
| 12-08 | Herndon-News Observer Newspaper Collection |
| MSS # | Collection Titles |
| 13-01 | "Braddock's True Gold" Collection |
| 13-02 | Oral History Tape Collection |
| 13-03 | Ross Netherton Oral History Tape Collection |
| 13-04 | Providence Perspective Oral History Collection |
| 13-05 | Andrew M.D. Wolf Oral History Tape Collection |
| MSS # | Collection Titles |
| 14-01 | The Road to Happiness Collection |
| 14-02 | Sigvald T. Jenssen Film Collection |
