Fairfax County History

African American History

• African American Heritage in Virginia
  A tourism-friendly guide to African American heritage in Virginia since Jamestown. Includes historic landmarks, neighborhoods, and museums by region.
• African American History Sites
  The Library of Virginia’s guide to research material regarding African American history in Virginia. Includes links to primary source material.

Native American Tribes in Virginia

• Native American Tribes in Virginia since Contact
  Includes a list of tribes from past and current times with maps.
• Virginia Indians
  Includes a list of current Virginia State Recognized Tribes, with locations and links to tribal websites.

Biography

• Dictionary of Virginia Biography
  Search the DVB biographies with lists or by name, era, occupation, birthplace. Links to full-text articles are provided where available. Produced by the Library of Virginia. A reference copy of the DLB is available in the Virginia Room.
• Famous and Historical Virginians
  Links to biographies of notable educators and inventors and historical Virginians from the colonial period through the 20th century. By the Virginia Tourism Corporation.

• Presidents and First Ladies from Virginia

  • Thomas Jefferson
    • Jefferson Digital Archive
      Jefferson's letters and papers, and a tour of UVA.
    • Monticello
      Learn about Jefferson’s former plantation home near Charlottesville.
    • The Thomas Jefferson Papers
      Thousands of searchable documents and images from the Library of Congress.
  • Dolley Madison
    • The Dolley Madison Project
      The life, letters, and legacy of Dolley Madison. Includes pictures and a timeline.
  • James Madison
    • The James Madison Papers
      The Library of Congress collection of 72,000 digital images of James Madison's political and personal papers.
    • James Madison's Montpelier
      Information on the Madisons and their home. Includes biographies and a special section for children.
  • James Monroe
    • James Monroe's Ash Lawn-Highland
      The website for James Monroe's home includes biographical information and a tour of the home.
  • John Tyler
    • Sherwood Forest Plantation
      John Tyler, the 10th president, and his home. The site includes a virtual tour and family tree information.
  • George Washington
    • George Washington Papers at the Library of Congress
      The world's largest collection of Washington papers. Documents include letters, diaries, accounts, military and government records and reports. Also notes accumulated by Washington from 1741 to 1799. The collection is fully searchable by keyword.
    • Historic Mount Vernon
      Take an online tour of the home, grounds, and excavation sites. Learn about Washington and find out more about visiting Mount Vernon.
    • The Papers of George Washington
      The George Washington Papers project at UVA provides images, FAQs, maps, and all manner of information on Washington and his era.
  • Woodrow Wilson
    • Woodrow Wilson Birthplace
      The Staunton, Virginia birthplace of the 28th president.