You may be surprised to discover the variety of activities offered at the library. Visit us for reading recommendations, technology assistance, special events, research help, retirement planning resources and more.
Adult Learning Center — Achieve your learning and career goals with LIVE one-on-one coaching, practice test center and online resources. Access high school equivalency prep, citizenship test prep, and career resources. Just select the “Adult Learners” tab to enter the Adult Learning Center. LIVE coaching is available daily from 2 p.m. to 11 p.m in English and Spanish.
Provides in-depth coverage and analysis of current events with fact-checked articles written by experienced journalists. Reports include historical background, graphics, chronologies, and resources for further research for a better appreciation of the issues involved. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide updates to the most popular subjects.
Tests, Tools, and Tutorials | Job & Career Accelerator
Provides practice tests and tutorials for academic (GED, SAT, AP, TOEFL, and more) and professional licensing (CDL, nursing exams and more) as well as the citizenship test. Recently Added: 17 New Tests; College Finance Calculators; GRE General Test Prep Tutorial; Dental Admission Test (DAT); Federal Job Search Engine; Occupation Overview Videos. Recently Updated: Scholarship Finder; Resume Builder Job Keywords.
Coverage spans elementary school skills through job skills and basic computer skills tutorials.
Helpful section for Spanish speakers.
LinkedIn Learning is an online learning platform with relevant expertly-produced courses covering a variety of topics in Business and Technology. If prompted for an organizational URL or ID, use fairfaxlibrary.
For globetrotters and armchair travelers alike, offers conversational language learning in over 70 languages, from Arabic to Yiddish, including English for speakers of other languages. Additionally, users can enjoy fun cultural specialty units, or practice the more arcane languages of "Pirate" (for landlubbers) and "Shakespearean" English (bespeaking Merrie Olde England). Users can create a profile to save their progress between sessions.
A comprehensive collection of popular full-text magazines and journals, reference books, documents, videos, images, maps, and flags, covering almost every interest and subject, including business and personal finance, health and fitness, sports and leisure, science and culture, DIY and fashion.
Helping readers of all ages find their next favorite title or author, NoveList offers fiction and nonfiction book and audiobook recommendations based on genre, subject, style, character, mood, and the many other qualities that readers look for in a great read or listen. Also provides series information, reviews, and lists of award winners and more.
Learn about careers, receive personalized career assessments, create professional resumes and cover letters, search for jobs, explore schools and training programs, and get advice to help find a job or advance your career.
For globetrotters and armchair travelers alike, offers interactive language learning of some of the world's most popular languages, including American Sign Language (ASL) and English for Spanish or Japanese speakers. Practice listening, speaking, reading, and writing a new language with 120 grammar, vocabulary, and pronunciation lessons per level.
Offers lifelong learning courses in over 30 subject areas, many of which offer continuing education units (CEUs), with more than 500 courses available, all designed and led by professional instructors.
Provides students, parents, educators, job seekers and professionals with interactive tools for learning and working. Enjoy fun activities, explore career options, take advantage of college planning and financial aid resources, and investigate professional development opportunities. Produced by the College of Education at Virginia Tech with support from the Virginia Department of Education.