Skip to main content
Fairfax County logo

Genealogy

Genealogical databases, websites, and bibliographies to aid users in the pursuit of their family history and origins.

Genealogy

family tree logo

This Genealogy Guide provides genealogical databases, websites, and bibliographies to aid users in the pursuit of their family history and origins.

In addition to this guide, many genealogical resources can be found in The Virginia Room, located on the second floor of the City of Fairfax Regional Library. The Virginia Room contains genealogical print holdings and online databases for almost all 50 states in addition to many countries.

Contact The Virginia Room for genealogical assistance.

Genealogy Library Events

Family History Research: Concepts & Resources (Three Sessions)

1.  The fundamentals of genealogy research.  2. Dig deep into the U.S. Census.  Get the most from Ancestry.  3. Courthouse, vital, immigration and military records.  Atlases and gazetteers.  Vir…

Date:
Monday, Jan 7, 2019
Time:
7:00pm - 8:30pm
Location:
,
Categories:
Age: Adults

Family History Research: Concepts & Resources (Three Sessions)

1.  The fundamentals of genealogy research.  2. Dig deep into the U.S. Census.  Get the most from Ancestry.  3. Courthouse, vital, immigration and military records.  Atlases and gazetteers.  Vir…

Date:
Monday, Jan 28, 2019
Time:
7:00pm - 8:30pm
Location:
,
Categories:
Age: Adults

Family History Research Concepts & Resources (Three sessions)

1. The fundamentals of genealogy research. 2. Dig deep into the U.S. Census. Get the most from Ancestry. 3. Find it online. Genealogy data at your fingertips if you know how and where to look. Virgini…

Date:
Thursday, Jan 31, 2019
Time:
7:00pm - 8:30pm
Location:
Herndon Fortnightly Meeting Room 1, Herndon Fortnightly Meeting Room 2 , Herndon Fortnightly Meeting Room 1, Herndon Fortnightly Meeting Room 2
Categories:
Age: Adults

Genealogy Research Fundamentals

Genealogy Research Fundamentals in six sessions. Build your family tree. #1 - Get started. #2 - Land & tax records. #3- Vital records & wills. #4 - Immigration & naturalization. #5 - Military. #6 DNA …

Date:
Tuesday, Feb 5, 2019
Time:
10:30am - 12:00pm
Location:
City of Fairfax Conference Room 214, City of Fairfax Conference Room 214
Categories:
Age: Adults

African American Family History Research

African-American genealogy research can be challenging.  In this two-part class you will learn strategies, resources and tools to build your family tree. Adults. (R)…

Date:
Monday, Feb 11, 2019
Time:
7:00pm - 8:30pm
Location:
Centreville Meeting Room 2, Centreville Meeting Room 2
Categories:
Age: Adults

Genealogy Research Fundamentals

Genealogy Research Fundamentals in six sessions. Build your family tree. #1 - Get started. #2 - Land & tax records. #3- Vital records & wills. #4 - Immigration & naturalization. #5 - Military. #6 DNA …

Date:
Tuesday, Feb 19, 2019
Time:
10:30am - 12:00pm
Location:
City of Fairfax Conference Room 214, City of Fairfax Conference Room 214
Categories:
Age: Adults

African American Family History Research

African-American genealogy research can be challenging.  In this two-part class you will learn strategies, resources and tools to build your family tree. Adults. (R)…

Date:
Monday, Feb 25, 2019
Time:
7:00pm - 8:30pm
Location:
Centreville Meeting Room 2, Centreville Meeting Room 2
Categories:
Age: Adults

Genealogy Research Fundamentals

Genealogy Research Fundamentals in six sessions. Build your family tree. #1 - Get started. #2 - Land & tax records. #3- Vital records & wills. #4 - Immigration & naturalization. #5 - Military. #6 DNA …

Date:
Tuesday, Mar 5, 2019
Time:
10:30am - 12:00pm
Location:
City of Fairfax Conference Room 214, City of Fairfax Conference Room 214
Categories:
Age: Adults

Genealogy Research Fundamentals

Genealogy Research Fundamentals in six sessions. Build your family tree. #1 - Get started. #2 - Land & tax records. #3- Vital records & wills. #4 - Immigration & naturalization. #5 - Military. #6 DNA …

Date:
Tuesday, Mar 19, 2019
Time:
10:30am - 12:00pm
Location:
City of Fairfax Conference Room 214, City of Fairfax Conference Room 214
Categories:
Age: Adults

Family History Research Concepts & Resources (Three sessions)

1. The fundamentals of genealogy research. 2. Dig deep into the U.S. Census. Get the most from Ancestry. 3. Find it online. Genealogy data at your fingertips if you know how and where to look. Virgini…

Date:
Thursday, Mar 28, 2019
Time:
7:00pm - 8:30pm
Location:
Herndon Fortnightly Meeting Room 1, Herndon Fortnightly Meeting Room 2 , Herndon Fortnightly Meeting Room 1, Herndon Fortnightly Meeting Room 2
Categories:
Age: Adults

Burke Historical Society Presents: Researching Local Cemeteries

Mary Lipsey of the Burke Historical Society and the Fairfax County Cemetery Preservation Association will speak on how to locate, study, and care for local historic cemeteries. Presented by the Burke …

Date:
Tuesday, Apr 2, 2019
Time:
7:00pm - 8:30pm
Location:
Burke Centre Meeting Room 116, Burke Centre Meeting Room 117, Burke Centre Meeting Room 116, Burke Centre Meeting Room 117
Categories:
Age: Adults

Databases for Genealogy Research

Fairfax County seal