FamilySearch: India Online Genealogy Records - These are genealogy links to India online databases and indexes that may include birth records, marriage records, death records, biographies, cemeteries, censuses, histories, immigration records, land records, military records, newspapers, obituaries, or probate records.
Wikipedia's Hindu genealogy registers at Haridwar - Genealogy registers, of families, maintained by Brahmin Pandits locally called as ‘Pandas’, who double up as professional genealogists, at Haridwar, has been a subject of study for many years now. In several cases, these voluminous records called as Vahis (Bahi), have also been used in settling legal cases regarding inheritance or property disputes, as these records are held sacrosanct both by the pilgrims and the Pandas themselves, and in many places these records trace family history, for over twenty prior generations, stretching across many centuries.
The Penguin Atlas of Diasporas, by Gérard Chaliand and Jean-Pierre Rageau ; maps by Catherine Petit ; translated from the French by A.M. Berrett (VREF 304.8 C 1995, or through the Internet Archive) - A groundbreaking perspective on the great religious and cultural diasporas of the world. Here, the very definition of "diaspora"--which embraces forced exile, voluntary migrations, and "minorities of inferiorization"--is examined in detail. The text is richly complemented with full-color maps and an iconography of synagogues, churches, and other cultural markers. Contents: The problem of diasporas -- The Jewish diaspora -- The Armenian diaspora -- The Gypsy diaspora -- The Black diaspora -- The Chinese diaspora -- The Indian diaspora -- The Irish diaspora -- The Greek diaspora -- The Lebanese diaspora -- The Palestinian diaspora -- The Vietnamese and Korean diasporas.
Inje University: Genealogy Library. Since 2007, the Paik Inje Memorial Library has been building a database of genealogical records to digitalize over 1,100 original genealogical record books and 1,000 books of photocopies under the agreement it has with Family Search and with the help of donations. They currently offer 5,000 e-books and are constantly updating their database. For background, see this article on the Challenges of Building a Genealogy Library in Korea (PDF, 2013)
Korean Kirogi Families : Placemaking, Belonging, and Mothering, by Young A. Jung. (VREF 371.826 Jung 2024) - Based on multi-sited ethnographic fieldwork at Fairfax County, Virginia, and Daechi-dong, Seoul, Korea, Korean Kirogi Families explores how transnational activities of kirogi families influence their sense of place and belonging.
Hamburger Coke: Tales of Poverty and Public Service, One Immigrant's Journey Through Long Hair, Mushu Pork, Height, Soccer Coaching, Elections, and Other Important Lessons Along the Way. By Ilryong Moon; edited by Joony Moon; translated by Wanda Park (VREF B MOON 2021) - In this book, the author who came to the US as an immigrant from Korea when he was 17 years old shares stories of his life journey in the new country overcoming poverty and language and cultural barriers and serving for more than 20 years, including 3 years as its chairman, on the School Board of Fairfax County, arguably one of the best school districts in the country. His stories include how he at point grew his hair long and tried to learn new language as an ESL student, the first time he faced Mushu Pork in a Chinese restaurant, self-consciousness about his stature, a brief stint as a parent-volunteer soccer coach and wins and losses in elections. He pays tributes to his parents for sacrificing so much for their children.
스카이캐슬 교육위원 이야기 / Ilryong Moon. / Seukaikaeseul gyoyug-wiwon iyagi / Mun-Illyong (VREF KO B MOON 2020) - This book is a carefully curated collection of approximately 70 newspaper and radio columns that the author has published over the last 2 decades in the local Korean community media. The writings depict his journey to the United States in the mid 1970s as a teenage Korean immigrant and describe how he served as an elected Fairfax County School Board member for 20 years. The stories describe his experiences as an ESL student, raising his two children, his work as a school board member, the people he has met along the way, and more life experiences in Fairfax County, Virginia.
A Genealogy of Dissent : The Progeny of Fallen Royals in Chosŏn Korea, by Eugene Y. Park (VREF 951.9 Park 2019) - In late Chosŏn when most Kaesŏng Wangs were detached from officialdom, the throne repeatedly articulated its desire to better honor the legacies of Koryŏ, human and material. Chapter 4 highlights how the court took stock of the state of Koryŏ royal tombs, other physical remains of Koryŏ, and the Kaesŏng Wang themselves--all while the position of ritual heir devolved to essentially that of Sungŭijŏn superintendent. As the late-Chosŏn elite as a whole became increasingly removed from officialdom and based their aristocratic status solely on descent, the Kaesŏng Wang published their first-ever comprehensive genealogy in 1798.
Washington Joong Ang ilbo eobsolog | Korea Times Washington D.C. Korean Business Directory (VREF 384.6058 W 2018) - Text in Korean and English.
A Nation of Nations: A Great American Immigration Story, by Tom Gjelten (VREF 325.73 G 2015).
A Family of No Prominence: The Descendants of Pak Tŏkhwa and The Birth of Modern Korea, by Eugene Y. Park (VREF 929.2 PAK 2014) - Koreans are known for their keen interest in genealogy and inherited ancestral status. Yet today's ordinary Korean would be hard pressed to explain the whereabouts of ancestors before the twentieth century. With A Family of No Prominence, Eugene Y. Park gives us a remarkable account of a nonelite family, that of Pak Tŏkhwa and his descendants (which includes the author). Spanning the early modern and modern eras over three centuries (1590-1945), this narrative of one family of the chungin class of people is a landmark achievement. What we do know of the chungin, or "middle people," of Korea largely comes from profiles of wealthy, influential men, frequently cited as collaborators with Japanese imperialists, who went on to constitute the post-1945 South Korean elite. This book highlights many rank-and-file chungin who, despite being better educated than most Koreans, struggled to survive. We follow Pak Tŏkhwa's descendants as they make inroads into politics, business, and culture. Yet many members' refusal to link their family histories and surnames to royal forebears, as most other Koreans did, sets them apart, and facilitates for readers a meaningful discussion of identity, modernity, colonialism, memory, and historical agency
The Penguin Atlas of Diasporas, by Gérard Chaliand and Jean-Pierre Rageau ; maps by Catherine Petit ; translated from the French by A.M. Berrett (VREF 304.8 C 1995, or through the Internet Archive) - A groundbreaking perspective on the great religious and cultural diasporas of the world. Here, the very definition of "diaspora"--which embraces forced exile, voluntary migrations, and "minorities of inferiorization"--is examined in detail. The text is richly complemented with full-color maps and an iconography of synagogues, churches, and other cultural markers. Contents: The problem of diasporas -- The Jewish diaspora -- The Armenian diaspora -- The Gypsy diaspora -- The Black diaspora -- The Chinese diaspora -- The Indian diaspora -- The Irish diaspora -- The Greek diaspora -- The Lebanese diaspora -- The Palestinian diaspora -- The Vietnamese and Korean diasporas.
Distant Patrol, Virginia and the Vietnam War, by Donald C. Harrison (VREF 975.5 H 1989) - Pub. under the auspices of the Virginia Korean-Vietnam War History Council, Department of Historic Resources.
Echoes of Little Saigon : Vietnamese Immigration and the Changing Face of Arlington, by Kim A. O'Connell (VREF 975.5295 O 2016) - The Arlington County Public Library and master’s degree students from Virginia Tech’s Department of Urban Affairs and Planning (National Capital Region) collaborated on a project to collect the stories of the Vietnamese community who immigrated to, shopped at or owned businesses in Arlington, Virginia’s Clarendon neighborhood when it was known as “Little Saigon” during the late 1970s and early 1980s. The organizers of this project interviewed and recorded stories and collected photos.
Second Generation Vietnamese Americans : A Comparative Perspective, by Nguyen Thuy Vy (VREF 305.8959 N 2014) - This book is the third in the series on the Fairfax County Asian American History Project (FCAAHP). It is a collection of stories in print and in pictures of those who were born as American citizens, who share a common Vietnamese ethnic origin, and who primarily grew up or chose to come and live in the Northern Virginia, D.C., and Maryland area. It provides a comparative perspective across generations, across state and country borders, and across various experiences at different stages of their authors' lives. It seeks to capture the impressions of those who live within and those who seek to construct and expand the contours of what it means to be a community. These stories reflect the important role of youth in our County and the future direction of a multicultural megalopolis like Fairfax County.
Vietnamese American Place Making in Northern Virginia, by Joseph Wood (VREF 305.8959 W 1997) - Vietnamese Americans have made places for themselves in Northern Virginia by reconfiguring the geography of the suburban places they inherited, including former high‐order central‐place nodes. Vietnamese American residences, churches, cemetery plots, and other distinctive ethnic markers are by and large dispersed and rarely noticeable. Their retail districts, however, serve them in multiple material and symbolic ways, not unlike suburban Chinatowns.
A Community Sampler. Vietnamese Speaking Households with Public School Children, by the Department of Systems Management for Human Services (VRARE 312.9 F 2000) - 4 unnumbered pages : color illustrations
The Penguin Atlas of Diasporas, by Gérard Chaliand and Jean-Pierre Rageau ; maps by Catherine Petit ; translated from the French by A.M. Berrett (VREF 304.8 C 1995, or through the Internet Archive) - A groundbreaking perspective on the great religious and cultural diasporas of the world. Here, the very definition of "diaspora"--which embraces forced exile, voluntary migrations, and "minorities of inferiorization"--is examined in detail. The text is richly complemented with full-color maps and an iconography of synagogues, churches, and other cultural markers. Contents: The problem of diasporas -- The Jewish diaspora -- The Armenian diaspora -- The Gypsy diaspora -- The Black diaspora -- The Chinese diaspora -- The Indian diaspora -- The Irish diaspora -- The Greek diaspora -- The Lebanese diaspora -- The Palestinian diaspora -- The Vietnamese and Korean diasporas.
Echoes of Little Saigon (archived at the Arlington County Library’s Center for Local History) - Stories of the Vietnamese community who immigrated to, shopped at or owned businesses in Arlington, Virginia’s Clarendon neighborhood when it was known as “Little Saigon” during the late 1970s and early 1980s.
Southeast Asia Digital Library (SEADL): Vietnam - free and open access to a variety of materials created in and about Southeast Asia. SEADL contains digital versions of books, manuscripts, periodicals, and more, as well as multimedia items such as videos and oral histories.
Southeast Asian Archive - collects materials relating to the resettlement of Southeast Asian refugees and immigrants in the United States, and the culture and history of Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam.
