Skip to main content
Fairfax County logo

Early Literacy

Early literacy is what children know about communication, language—verbal and non-verbal—reading and writing before they can actually read and write.

Nursery Rhymes

Blooming Beneath the Sun: Poems by Christina Rosetti
Poet Christina Rossetti's classic nursery rhymes and poems, illustrated.

The Classic Collection of Mother Goose Nursery Rhymes by Gina Baek
Rediscover the timeless nursery rhymes of Mother Goose, brought to life with new and vibrant illustrations.

The Cow Tripped Over the Moon: A Nursery Rhyme Emergency by Jeanne Willis
The Storyland Ambulance Crew is kept busy by all the accidents happening to nursery rhyme characters.

The Cow Tripped Over the Moon: A Nursery Rhyme Emergency

Favorite Nursery Rhymes from Mother Goose by Scott Gustafson
A collection of forty-five traditional nursery rhymes.

Korean Nursery Rhymes: Wild Geese, Land of Goblins and Other Favorite Songs and Rhymes by Danielle Wright
An illustrated collection of fourteen nursery rhymes, plus notes on Korean culture and explanations of how the jump rope and hand clap games are played.

Mamá Goose : A Latino Nursery Treasury by Ala Ada
Presents lullabies, finger plays, nursery rhymes, games, riddles, proverbs and more in Spanish and English.

Marc Brown’s Playtime Rhymes: A Treasury for Families to Learn and Play Together by Marc Brown
A lively collection of 20 favorite read-and-play-along finger rhymes complements such entries as "The Itsy-Bitsy Spider" and "I'm a Little Teapot" with pictorial instructions for correlating finger movements.

The McElderry Book of Mother Goose: Revered and Rare Rhymes by Petra Mathers
An illustrated collection of Mother Goose nursery rhymes, including well-known ones such as "Hey Diddle Diddle" and "The Queen of Hearts" and less familiar ones such as "Mother May I Go and Swim" and "Ten Little Penguins."

Mother Ghost: Nursery Rhymes for Little Monsters by Rachel Kolar
An illustrated collection of thirteen gently spooky adapted Mother Goose rhymes.

Sally Go Round the Stars: Favourite Rhymes from an Irish Childhood by Sarah Webb
A major, beautifully-illustrated collection of favorite nursery rhymes known and loved throughout Ireland. It includes favorite international, British and Irish rhymes as well as special Irish favorites.

Yum! Yum!!: Delicious Nursery Rhymes by Joanne Fitzgerald
A collection of nursery rhymes about food, set in a farmer's market.


September 2019

Fairfax County seal